JiangsuUK 2020

Swansea University has been a committed member of the flagship Jiangsu–UK 20+20 World-Class University Consortium since its inception in 2016.  The group of more than 30 leading universities from the UK and Jiangsu province in China, has committed to intensify research and education collaboration on a “many to many” basis. 

The Jiangsu Declaration strengthens academic research collaboration, furthers strategic engagement, and deepens international partnerships, as part of a £40 million investment into international higher education by the Jiangsu provincial government.

Jointly spearheaded by the British Council, Universities UK, and the Jiangsu Provincial Department of Education, the consortium draws its impetus from the Chinese government's 'World-Class Universities and First-Class Disciplines' Initiative, which seeks to develop several of its institutions into world-class universities by 2020.  Jiangsu province, ranked second in terms of GDP out of China's 23 provinces, has been earmarked as being key to these ambitions and is already home to several of the UK's flagship 'one-to-one higher education collaborations, such as Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University in Suzhou.

The Consortium has three key thematic areas for collaboration: Advanced Manufacturing, Environmental Engineering and Healthcare. These are delivered via Doctoral Training, Pump Priming for Collaborative research and a Visiting Researchers Programme.

Swansea University participated in the January 2020 UK Partner Consortium meeting in Liverpool and a Zoom meeting of the Consortium in May 2020, working to progress collaborative partnerships. We have been successful in attracting an Early Career Researcher from Jiangsu - Prof. Dehua Zhu from Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology will visit Swansea as an ECR in April 2021, hosted by Ji Li from Swansea University’s College of Engineering (Energy and Environment). The visitor will receive a JPDE scholarship.


  • To build a platform that will deepen and broaden the level of strategic engagement and collaboration between universities in the UK and Jiangsu
  • To raise the profile of higher education in Jiangsu in the UK and of the UK higher education sector in Jiangsu
  • To harness multilateral cooperation as a mechanism to raise the quality and competitiveness of the participating institutions; sharing opportunities and addressing shared challenges together 


The University of Liverpool is the UK Chair of the UK-Jiangsu World-Class Universities Consortium and facilitates coordination and communication between members, organises activities and plans projects with the Jiangsu Chair.

Jiangsu MembersUK Members
Changzhou University  University of Cambridge 
China University of Mining and Technology  Cranfield University 
China Pharmaceutical University  Coventry University 
Hohai University  University of Derby 
Jiangnan University  University of Leicester 
Jiangsu University  University of Leeds 
Jiangsu Normal University  University of  Liverpool
Jiangsu University of Science and Technology  University of Oxford 
Nanjing University  University of Plymouth 
Nanjing University of the Arts Queen's University Belfast
Nanjing Agricultural University University of Reading
Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics Swansea University
Nanjing Forestry University University of York
Nanjing University of Information Science & Technology Lancaster University
Nanjing Medical University  
Nanjing Normal University  
Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications  
Nanjing University of Science and Technology  
Nanjing Technology University  
Nantong University  
Soochow University  
Southeast University  
Yangzhou University

Please contact Julie Williams via email or tel: 01792 295824 for further details

To find out more, please go to the Consortium page