Photograph of the Abbey, Singleton Campus

The Senate is established by the University's Charter which states that "subject to the control and approval of the Council, [Senate] shall regulate and superintend the education and discipline of the University".

The powers and duties of the Senate are set out in the University Ordinances (Ordinance 4).

The Senate draws its membership from the academic staff and students of the institution and normally meets four times each year.