The Governance and Nominations Committee is responsible for reviewing and advising the Council on the University's governance arrangements, ensuring the University pursues good practice and complies with external governance requirements. The Committee is also responsible for recommending to Council the appointment of lay officers and lay members to Council.

During the 2022-23 academic session, the Committee held five meetings, including one special meeting. The Committee's business focused on reviewing succession planning arrangements and recommendations to Council regarding role descriptors, appointment processes, the Independent Governance Effectiveness Review, changes to terms of references and membership of Council Committees, ordinance amendments, and the procedure for reporting serious incidents. It also focused on increasing diversity of Board membership and of Council and Council Committees, reviewing the register of declarations of interest, and the appraisal process for the Chair of Council and Council Committees. Arrangements relating to reviewing the effectiveness of Council Committees were also amended. 

Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council (Chair) Mr Goi Ashmore
Pro-Chancellor Sir Roderick Evans
The Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul Boyle
Lay Member of Council Professor Keshav Singhal
Lay Member of Council Ms Nan Williams
Lay Member of Council Ms Elin Rhys
Staff Member Appointed by Senate Professor Ryan Murphy
Staff Member of Council Mr Adam Jones
President of Students’ Union (or another Student Member of Council) Mr Pablo Josiah

Date Papers Circulated to Members

Date of Meeting 

Time of Meeting

25/09/2023  02/10/2023 2.00pm
17/11/2023 24/11/2023 2.00pm
04/03/2024 11/03/2024 2.00pm
10/06/2024 17/06/2024 2.00pm